Final Post – Interview

Well guys, we are at the end of our journey here!

I want to say that it has been a pleasure bringing you my experiences from Istanbul. I enjoyed hearing your responses and your thoughts about the world equally. It is my hope that you were able to take away some worthwhile information as well!.

I wish that I could arrange to have a meet with your class once the semester is finished, but I will be staying here for another 6 months as well. So hopefully we can arrange something via Skype before the term ends!

Alot of the topics that we discussed were pretty weighty (another reason I was so impressed by your feedback!) and may be difficulty to grasp onto. So for our final blog, I decided to have a chat with someone that is in your guys’ age group, and get a little comparison on what it’s like being a teenager in Turkey.

My roommate’s younger brother Kıvanç (kuuvanc-ch) was very eager to help me out with this project. I’ve gotten to know their family a bit during my stay here, and Kıvanç has always been curious about life in America, so it wasnt so much a surprise he volunteered!

What’s your name?
Kıvanç
How old are you?
14
How is school? What are your favorite classes?
I really like mathmatics, I’ve always been good at it.
Anything you don’t like?
Sure, I hate literature
Do you speak any other languages? (Asked him this in english- laughing)
Yeaa, a little bit of english! And even less german.
What kind of hobbies do you have?
i play the guitar, I want to get even better at this. I like playing basketball and drawing also.
If you had to pick to be a rockstar or a pro basketball player which would it be?
I don’t think I could be the rockstar, but I think it would be more fun to be a player.
You’re tall enough to be a basketball player at least! (he’s like 6.1″)
Yea, sometimes that intimidates people, maybe that’s my secret weapon on the court!
So what’s your favorite music or bands?
duman (a turkish rock band), Model (another Turkish alt rock band), Kesha, Pitbull, J-lo
Favorite Movies
The Expendables, Tron, Hunger Games of course! (he had just come back from seeing the newest movie), Avengers, and Thor
If Istanbul were under attack from mutant cat aliens, who would be the better superhero to battle them?  Captain America?  or…?
I think Grumpy Cat would be the best.. he would just scare them away.
What’s your favorite food?
Meatballs, macaroni, kebap, kalamar (calamari)
Have you traveled a lot? Where are some places you’ve been?
I’ve been to Germany, Czech republic, Slovakia, and Austria….
Anywhere still you want to visit?
england and france and definitely the USA
Is there any big differences that you see in Turkish and American culture? What comes to mind?
Turkish people are more friendly and more helpful than Americans. Turkish kitchen food is more delicious than american food just from what I’ve tasted. I think american people more obedient and more hardworking. Turkish people have a big ottoman empire history. American people are more modern than Turkish people, Turkish people are generally lazy and generally Muslim. So they are different culture. Turkish people have more traditions and generally like taking the easy way out of a problem.
(the last point he made interested me, so asked a bit more)
So you think that Turks generally try and do a job quicker?
Yes, I think they try and do something as quick, don’t take the time to make sure it is done properly. Sometimes in school too.
Do you do this?
*laughs* Sometimes
What would you like to study one day?
I really like math so maybe I will work in science, but I also like photography so maybe I will do this also.
gordu
My roommate and Kıvanç in the background
So, again, I hope you guys have had a worthwhile time on this project. When I return in the spring to Portland, maybe we’ll have a chance to meet in the classroom. In the meantime, I encourage you guys to keep up your travels, interest in the world, and meeting new people. You never know where it will lead you!
24 thoughts on “Final Post – Interview”

  1. I will really enjoyed reading these every week I would even look forward to reading them sometimes because they are really interesting thank you so much for doing this and I hope we can meet you or Skype with you sometime. These made me really want to visit Turkey someday.
    Thank you!

  2. Thank you so much for the time and effort you put into writing these blogs every week for us! I really appreciate it, and I definitely learned a lot from it too. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Turkey.
    One again… THANK YOU!!!

    -Joy

  3. Grumpy Cat would just give his amazing death glare, and everyone would start crying. I wouldn’t have thought that Kesha and the Hunger Games would be in Istanbul, I just learned something new. Thanks so much for taking the time to do this!

  4. “I think Grumpy Cat would be the best. He would just scare them away.”

    It’s spreading! Run for your happiness!

    (If there are weird “I”s there, then I have no idea how to use HTML code. If not, ignore this.)
    I have a feeling that if a list was made of America’s exports, “Pop Culture” would be at the top. Also speaking from my own experience in Europe. Half the stations just play American pop music. The other half are Italian gossip shows about the singers singing the American pop music.

  5. Thank you for making this blog for us. I enjoyed reading and learning about Turkey and Istanbul, and I appriciate the effort you put into this blog. I hope you enjoy your remaining time in Istanbul! 😋

  6. Thank you for all the time you put into this blog! I learned a lot about Turkey, though I knew nothing besides it’s name and location before, so there was a lot to learn. It also made me want to learn more about other countries and cultures, just to see the differences between them and the US.

  7. Thanks for all the blog posts. It was interesting reading about how similar Turkish people are to U.S.A. even though there’s still the small differences. Have a safe trip back.

  8. Thank you for taking time out of trip to write these blog posts. I really learned a lot about Turkey and its culture and I’m sure the rest of the class did too. Thank you! (again)

  9. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this blog. I have learned many interesting and important things about the history and culture of Turkey. And I strongly agree with your roommate; any food is better than American food.
    😉

Leave a Reply

